How Many Clubs In A Golf Bag?
[Everything You Need To Know]
How many clubs in a golf bag? Great question!
Our team at GolfMamba has spent several hours researching this topic. We will cover how many clubs you are allowed to carry, what happens if you’re caught carrying too many clubs, how to remove clubs from play, and a few other details that will give you a better understanding of the rules.
Let’s get right into it!
How Many Clubs Allowed in A Golf Bag
The USGA and R&A allow a player to carry a maximum of 14 clubs in their bag.
- Must use conforming clubs and balls
- Limited to no more than 14 clubs and normally must not replace damaged or lost clubs
- Restricted in the use of other equipment that gives artificial help to his or her play.
Penalty for Too Many Clubs in the Bag
What happens if you have more than 14 clubs in your bag? For every hole you carry more than 14 clubs you will be given a 2 stroke penalty with a maximum of a 4 strokes penalty for the round in stroke play.
If you are in the middle of the first hole and realize that you have more than the allowed number of clubs, the issue will be addressed at the end of the hole.
The rule in match play is simply a deduction from one hole with a maximum of two. So when you finish the round, the score should be adjusted accordingly.
How to Remove Clubs From Round
Minimum Number of Clubs
Types of Clubs You're Allowed to Carry
There is no rule that states what type of clubs you must carry in your golf bag. As long as each club meets the USGA standards then you can carry whichever types of golf clubs you want. Just remember, do not exceed the 14 golf club maximum. If you want to play a course with 3 putters, 2 drivers, and that trusty 9 Iron, go right ahead.
Can I Add Clubs During A Round?
Thanks to the new rules in the USGA you are now permitted to add clubs during a round without penalty. For example, lets say you start a round with 12 clubs, but decide to add 2 additional clubs at the turn. You’re welcome to do this without penalty as long as they conform with the USGA rules.
Can I Use My Playing Partners Clubs?
In the rules of golf it is stated:
So you may not share clubs with another player. If a player uses their playing partners golf club(s) during a round, the player must take a stroke even if the player is playing in a group and immediately removes the club from play as previously mentioned.
Learning and understanding the rules of golf is something that takes time. We hope this article has helped you to better understand the rules surrounding how many golf clubs in a bag are allowed. If you enjoyed this article, please check out our step by step guide on How To Hit a Driver.